Blondies according to Dorie Greenspan… Chewy & Chunky

Photobucket

Though I do not own this book yet (YET), I have heard soooo many great things about Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. This past weekend, I got around to making her Chewy, Chunky Blondies (page 109) since we are real big blondie fans in this family. I prepared the recipe with only minor changes (I omitted the coconut and walnuts, and instead of her 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate chopped into chips, or 1 cup chocolate chips & 1 cup Heath Toffee Bits I did 3/4 C chocolate chips (mostly bittersweet with a handful of Hersheys Special Dark thrown in) and 1/2 C Peanut Butter Chips. Other than that, I stuck to her recipe so I won’t post it here (But you can find it HERE and HERE).

Photobucket

These blondies came out very good. Good enough that I want to go out and buy the book now for the rest of the recipes. Though they were nothing extra-spectacular that makes them stand out from other blondie recipes I’ve prepared, I’d definitely make them again. They were a cinch to throw together, nice and sturdy and moist, and with some rich caramelly tones.

Photobucket

I want to take a poll… I’m considering making cupcakes for my wedding this October. I have about 75 – 90 guests, so I’d make around that many cupcakes, and I’ get a mall 6 inch cake made professionally to use as the “cake cutting cake” that I put my cute little cake topper on. I’m not doing anything super fancy, just piping some frosting on and maybe throwing a gum paste flower on it (that I would purchase, not make). Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Some people say I can do it, others say I’m totally insane. Fellow bakers – what are your thoughts??? I’d love some insightful input and wisdom. 🙂 Thanks!

About thesmartbaker

The Smart Baker is a website that offers great products for the everyday baker.
This entry was posted in Brownies, Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

