Strawberry Cobbler Pie

Photobucket
So I’m trying out a new blog layout. I tried to neaten it up a little bit, make it look cleaner and tidier and a little less cluttered. What do you think?

Anyway, I had a lot of fun with this week’s recipe for Sweet Melissa Sundays. Our host for the week, the lovely Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures chose Strawberry (Rhubarb) Cobbler Pie… I left the Rhubarb out, so mine is just a Strawberry Cobbler Pie. Though I was tempted to try out Rhubarb (like many other SMS-ers, I’ve never tried it before!) but I’m bringing it to family dinner on Sunday night and I wasn’t sure how the fam would feel about it.

I made the cobbler pie exactly as the recipe from the Sweet Melissa Baking book states, except I subbed the 2 cups of Rhubarb for an additional two cups of strawberries. Also, I prepared my biscuit dough in the food processor since I don’t own a pastry cutter, and it came together just fine. I may have used a tad bit more lemon zest than Melissa calls for because I’m never sure… when a recipe calls for a teaspoon of zest, is it one teaspoon packed? But… I admit… I cheated and used a pre-bought frozen pie crust. I’m sorry! I really wanted to give the pie crust recipe a try, I was a little short on time.

Photobucket
slicing the strawberries with an egg slicer… time saver!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Daniel cutting me some star shaped biscuits

Photobucket
Very liquidy.

Photobucket
Cute! This is the pre-baked pie. The star shape totally worked!

Photobucket
I told you mine was wet!!!! Was anyone’s oozey and wet like this?

Photobucket

Photobucket

It came out looking very good! I can’t wait to try it tonight with the family. I wish we could just dig in now!!!
Besides the SEA of STRAWBERRY OOZE GOO that flooded out of my pie, everything when perfectly smoothly. I thought Melissa’s sweet biscuit recipe was great. I wound up with a few small stars that wouldn’t fit on the pie, so I brushed them with milk, sprinkled with sugar, and baked them up. Served warm with a little jam… excellenttttt. If this is any indication of the taste of the whole pie, it should be quite delicious indeed! With the remaining heavy cream left over from the biscuit dough, I plan to whip up from whipped cream to serve with the pie… and maybe even some vanilla ice cream… mmm, perfection.

Check out the other SMS bakers to see how their pies came out by visiting the blogroll. And see Tracey’s blog, Tracey’s Culinary adventures to see the recipe. Buon appetito!

About thesmartbaker

The Smart Baker is a website that offers great products for the everyday baker.
This entry was posted in Pies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

